Playlist: Don’t Tell People To Smile

By Phillip Morgan

Screen Shot 2016-05-11 at 2.58.32 PM
I’m back in Atlanta for the summer following an overall pretty terrible semester, and while I appreciate the support I’ve gotten from my friends over the past couple of months, I still find maintaining a positive outlook pretty taxing from day to day. As such, I understand the frustration that comes with concerned loved ones (or patronizing strangers) telling you to smile more, especially when you really just need support as you try to find something sort of stability. So, rather than the typical “chin up, sonny, everything is sunny and good” playlist, I’ve compiled some of my favorite upbeat songs that aim for unconditional comfort or solidarity instead of shallow cheeriness. They won’t exactly pump you up in the traditional sense, but their energetic nature always leaves me a little less down than I was before, and I hope they work for you too.

Leave a Reply

