Playlist Week: Isabella

By Isabella Dionne

“Gold Dust Woman” by Fleetwood Mac

Stevie Nicks is basically everything I could ever aspire to be. All of the songs she wrote for Fleetwood Mac are inspiring and empowering, but “Gold Dust Woman” has always given me the perfect “calm intensity” vibe.

“Everlong” by the Foo Fighters

The chorus of “Everlong” is my favorite set of lyrics of all time. In the live Skin and Bones version of the song, Dave Grohl hits the tone just right.

“Rocket Queen” by Guns N’ Roses

I’m thoroughly convinced that “Rocket Queen” is actually the best song the classic lineup of Guns N’ Roses ever wrote together. The first part is just classic GN’R rock, but when the drums and riff of the second phase kick in… How do people not love this song as much as I do?

“In the Flesh” by Pink Floyd

This playlist wouldn’t be complete without a song from my all-time favorite album, The Wall. I like to think the “In the Flesh” riff gives me life. (P.S. More Floyd to come.)

“Time Is Running Out” by Muse

If Chris Wolstenholme’s thick bass intro isn’t enough, try listening to the angsty tension of all three musicians playing (plus Matt Bellamy’s killer lyrics and vocals) when the second verse comes in.

“Over the Hills and Far Away” by Led Zeppelin

There are so many Zeppelin songs I wanted to include on this, but “Over the Hills and Far Away” has been my favorite from them since the very first time I heard it, driving in my car on the way to work.

“A Matter of Trust” by Billy Joel

I didn’t really listen to Billy Joel until my grandmother gave me his Greatest Hits album when I was seventeen. “A Matter of Trust” isn’t on it, but after getting sucked into Joel’s music, I fell in love with this song and its lyrics shortly after.

“Time” by Pink Floyd

Pink Floyd’s the only band to make it onto this playlist twice. Like the rest of The Dark Side of the Moon, the tone and meaning of “Time” is just so heavy. It really puts everything into perspective.

“All Apologies” by Nirvana

“All Apologies” is one of those songs where the studio version is great but the live version is a whole other kind of great. Unplugged in New York is the first Nirvana album I ever bought, and this song has been my favorite ever since.

“Shameful Metaphors” by Chevelle

This is my actual number one favorite song of all time, written by my actual number one favorite band of all time.

“Hell Ain’t a Bad Place to Be” by AC/DC

This is another song where the live version is just infinitely better than the studio version. Bon Scott’s vocals on the If You Want Blood version of the song trump anything he sang on Let There Be Rock.

“Little Things” by Bush

I will admit that I didn’t actually know any Bush songs besides “Comedown,” “Machinehead,” and “Glycerine” until my sister and her husband took me to see them last winter. But “Little Things” has been one of my favorites since the band performed it to close the show that night.

“Show Me How to Live” by Audioslave

As someone who’s a fan of Tom Morello but not a fan of Rage Against the Machine, I will never, ever take Audioslave for granted. Musically, this one has to be my favorite of theirs.

“It Will Come Back” by Hozier

I can’t say no to a song that makes me feel like I’m casually strutting away from a murder scene in a Tarantino movie.

“Love, Hate, Love” by Alice in Chains

Layne Staley is my favorite lead singer of all time. The bitter chorus of the Live version of this song captures his raw talent in ways the studio version comes just shy of doing.

“Take It to the Limit” by the Eagles

I am a very big fan of sad romantic ‘70s rock songs, and Randy Meisner’s vocals nail that vibe in “Take It to the Limit.” Also, One of These Nights is one of my favorite albums, so this was a no-brainer for me.

“No. 1 Party Anthem” by the Arctic Monkeys

“No. 1 Party Anthem” has held the coveted position of “most played” in my music library ever since I discovered the song, so if that doesn’t show how much I love it, nothing will.

“Top of the World” by Van Halen

I remember walking around the North End around midnight once and hearing “Top of the World” (my favorite song from the Van Hagar era, despite me not liking For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge very much otherwise) blaring from a club. Needless to say, being under twenty-one years old never hurt so much.

“Read My Mind” by The Killers

Most of my favorite songs are songs with lyrics that question purpose or give me some sense of perspective, time, and nostalgia. For me, “Read My Mind” does all of this.

“Lover, You Should’ve Come Over” by Jeff Buckley

Grace is certainly one of my favorite albums of all time, but this particular version of the song—recorded at the Olympia in Paris—shows off Buckley’s vocals especially well, especially once he hits the “It’s never over” parts.

Leave a Reply

