Playlist Week: Lauren

By Lauren Lopez

“Boston” by Augustana

Cue the song that every single kid who lives in Boston has had on repeat at one point in his or her life. This song just makes me incredibly nostalgic and I don’t know why. I think there are just songs that give you a physical reaction when the first few notes are played and this is one of them for me.

“Come On Eileen” by Dexy’s Midnight Runners

Speaking of nostalgia, if you were to ask me what song makes me think of my childhood, I would say “Come on Eileen.” I don’t know if it was because my dad never took his radio off the eighties station, or if this was one of those mandatory songs party DJs just had to play when I was a kid, but this is childhood in a song for me.

“One More Time” by Daft Punk

My mom is one of those people who will find a song she likes and play it over and over again until you would rather sit in the car in silence. She had a CD with about five songs that I’m surprised didn’t break because it was so overplayed. This was one of them. When I was little I thought this song was by Aaron Carter. Don’t ask me why because I have no idea.

“Young Volcanoes” by Fall Out Boy

When making this playlist, I kind of worked my way backwards for a lot of it and chose an artist I liked first and then chose one of my favorite songs by them. This is because every good playlist needs a little Fall Out Boy.

“Tenerife Sea” by Ed Sheeran

I really like Ed Sheeran. Although a lot of people probably think of their significant others while listening to this song, I think of my favorite fictional characters (who will remain nameless).

“Peeta” by Jonathan Thulin

I found this song through a Tumblr post, and realized that Jonathan Thulin has actually written multiple songs based off The Hunger Games trilogy. Either way, I like his music, but this happens to be one of my favorite songs by him.

“Talk Me Down” by Troye Sivan

I’ve been a fan of Troye Sivan since he was just a YouTube artist. Recently, I got the chance to hear his songs live and this is one of my favorites.

“All In My Head” by Skylar Kergil

Skylar Kergil recently visited Emerson College, and since then I’ve gotten really into his music. I love this song both for the way it sounds and for its lyrics.

“Hero” by Family of the Year

I have a ton of film friends who forced me to watch Boyhood in 2014. But I only saw the film after they spent practically an entire year randomly singing this song at the top of their lungs. Whenever I miss my friends from college, I listen to this song.

“Love You Goodbye” by One Direction

I tried to limit this list to include only one song by One Direction, because I thought it would be boring otherwise. Spoiler alert: two of their songs made it on this playlist. Sorry. I couldn’t help it. So far, this is my favorite song off of their newest album, which is why I had to include it.

“The Big Ship – 2004 Digital Remaster” by Brian Eno

I often like to find songs that are really soft or slow or have no words to play while I’m doing homework. It’s less distracting, especially when I’m reading. This is a song I often listen to when doing homework.

“Wait” by M83

I constantly listen to M83 while doing homework. I had to pick one song from them, which was extremely hard, but eventually chose this when I saw it was the most played in my iTunes library.

“Don’t Forget Where You Belong” by One Direction

Before I decided to put the other song on this playlist, I had chosen this one to be my token One Direction song. If I had to pick my favorite song of theirs, it would be this one. It came out my senior year of high school. Because it talks about remembering where you came from, I always listen to it when I’m homesick.

“Empire State of Mind (Pt. II) Broken Down” by Alicia Keys

There are probably a thousand songs about New York, but this is one of my favorites. I was also trying to make this playlist somewhat cohesive by having Boston at the beginning, the song I associate with homesickness right before this, and this at the end. I guess it’s up to listeners to decide if it actually worked.

Leave a Reply

