Playlist Week: Abby

By Abigail Visco

The music I listen to changes constantly and has evolved greatly over the years. At a glance, this playlist is anything but cohesive. However, each song is special to me in some way or another and represents the role music played at each stage of my life. If my life had a soundtrack, this would be it.

“I Try” by Macy Gray 

This song makes the top of the list because it is the first song I ever remember listening to. My mom played this song a lot in the car when I was little as we drove around from errand to errand.

“Dream On” by Aerosmith

I also remember hearing a lot of Aerosmith as a child. My mom really hated children’s music.

“Beautiful Soul” by Jesse McCartney

Although it makes me cringe to put this song on the list, I have to. Jesse McCartney was my first album and probably my first love. My ten-year-old self spent many afternoons in her room blasting this song on her Hello Kitty radio and ripping out McCartney’s posters from Tiger Beat magazines.

“Same Blood” by The Academy Is…

My passion for music truly began in seventh grade, and The Academy Is… was the band that started it all. They will always be one of my favorites, and this song never gets old.

“Coffee Shop Soundtrack” by All Time Low

This song, along with all other songs by All Time Low, was the anthem of my middle school career. It was an awkward stage, but a fun one, full of pop punk and questionable fashion choices.

“Nine in the Afternoon” by Panic! at the Disco

Although A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out is my favorite album of Panic! at the Disco’s, this song will always remind me of my best friend. We spent a lot of time at her house playing this song on Rock Band. I failed miserably on drums while she rocked it on guitar.

“Rapture” by Blondie

To this day, Debbie Harry is one of my biggest heroes. I’m not quite sure how my music taste changed from pop punk to seventies and eighties classics, but I’m glad it did.

“Head Over Heals” by Tears for Fears

For some crazy reason, I thought that if I listened to enough eighties pop during freshman year of high school, my high school experience would somehow transform into a John Hughes movie. I wore a Tears for Fears t-shirt to gym class everyday, and their poster hung in my room for a long time.

“Rock the Casbah” by The Clash

The Clash is probably one of my favorite bands of all time. I’m not too sure what this song is about, but I can’t help but sing along every time I hear it.

“Rich Girl” by Daryl Hall & John Oates

I discovered Hall & Oates while rummaging through records in my grandmother’s basement in a desperate attempt to add even more seventies and eighties pop classics to my record collection. It was my first vinyl, and it’s still one of my most valued.

“Icky Thump” by The White Stripes

During sophomore year of high school, I only listened to The White Stripes. Nothing else. They had just broken up, and I was devastated. I wanted nothing more than to be Meg White when I grew up.

“Freedom at 21” by Jack White

In attempts to mend my broken heart, my mom bought me tickets to see Jack White on tour promoting his first solo album, Blunderbuss. It wasn’t the same without dear Meg, but it was my first concert, and I will always remember Jack playing this song live.

“Black Dog” by Led Zeppelin

Since Jack White was my first concert, it should be my favorite, but I had the chance to see Robert Plant this past summer, and no one can top that. Plant played some Led Zeppelin classics, and this was perhaps my favorite.

“High and Dry” by Radiohead 

During the college search process, I thought it was time to “reinvent” myself. With Emerson College my number one choice, I thought I would give the “hipster” persona a try. I bought a Radiohead album and discovered my love for Urban Outfitters.

“Holocene” by Bon Iver

It was also around this time that I discovered Bon Iver. This song never ceases to make me cry.

“Lithium” by Nirvana

With my eighties obsession behind me (temporarily), I thought it was time to try out a new decade: nineties alternative and grunge. I needed to trade in the quiet indie music I was listening to for something loud, while still keeping my new “hipster” persona. Although my style has changed a little since then, Nirvana has remained a constant.

“Under the Bridge” by Red Hot Chili Peppers

Red Hot Chili Peppers is another band that will probably remain a constant in my life. Anthony Kiedis is an amazing songwriter and their sound is unlike any other.

“Between the Bars” by Elliott Smith

As of late, I have been listening to more solo artists than bands. I think Elliott Smith is probably one of the best songwriters and musicians of all time. This song is his best by far, and I wish he was still alive to create more songs like this.

“Keep Your Head Up” by Ben Howard

All of Ben Howard’s music is equally amazing, but I can only pick one. I listen to this song when I’m sad and need some positivity. The title speaks for itself.

“All Bad” by Justin Bieber

A year from now, I will probably be outraged for putting Justin Bieber on this list. In fact, I am already a little miffed with myself, but I’ve been listening to him a lot lately. I think the cycle of my music taste has started over and I’ve switched out Jessie McCartney for Justin Bieber. I’m just going to roll with it without shame…well, maybe a little.

Leave a Reply

