Review: “Bloodstream” by Ed Sheeran

image

By Lauren Lopez

When I heard that Ed Sheeran was going to be releasing his new single on February 11th, assumed it was going to be a single off of his next album. I was wrong. He took “Bloodstream” a song off of his album, x, remixed it with the English band, Rudimental, and then called it a new single rather than a remix.

I was disappointed at first. My disappointment was partially because “Bloodstream” is definitely one of my least favorite songs off the album, and partially because I was expecting a whole new song. I was confused when he initially released it because he was calling it a new single when it is technically a remix.

After listening to it, I became a lot less disappointed. It’s still not my favorite song of his, but I do like it more than the original. The original is very similar to his usual style. Usually, his songs are just him singing and occasionally rapping with very little instrumental accompaniment. Ed Sheeran doesn’t try to make him music too flashy. His music is normally very raw and simple. He has talent, and he doesn’t try to cover it up with a lot of instruments. Normally, I like that; that’s actually the main reason I like Ed Sheeran. I like that he is actually a really good singer and he doesn’t try to cover up his natural talent by autotuning or adding really heavy instrumentals so he can make something people will think is catchy.

The differences between the two versions of the song are pretty subtle, but effective in the sense that he made a remix that is catchy, yet does not compromise the integrity of the original song. He didn’t completely wash out his voice by adding a ton of beats in the background to make it catchy. The only thing he really changes is that the one with Rudimental has more of a beat in the background and sounds like a remix. His other song is more acoustic, while this one is a little louder and probably better to dance to.

I do like that he kept a few parts the same. He kept the bridge the same, which is where he’s mainly just singing, “All the voices in my mind, Calling out across the line,” over and over again. The way I interpreted it is  he kept the bridge the same so that it served as a bridge between the two songs that are otherwise pretty different.

I didn’t have too many high hopes for this song, because it was an initial disappointment. However, as always, Ed really pulled through and I really enjoyed this song.

Leave a Reply

