Top Fives, Vol. 2: Aidan Connelly, Writer

 

Aidan Connelly studies journalism at Emerson College. If you’re so inclined, you can listen to him talk about the news from time to time on 88.9 FM. In his free time, he enjoys watching dogs in Boston Common and being in control of the auxiliary cord.

These are some of his favorite songs.

1. “Didn’t I” by Darondo, Edits EP

I love the way they recorded the guitar on this track. I asked a friend of mine who’s into those things about how they went about doing it, and it turns out that they were just using a shitty microphone. This track is gold.

2. “Hey Ya!” by Outkast, Speakerboxxx/ The Love Below

This is the first song I really remember being a big deal. It was on top of the iTunes charts and my parents knew about it. In the music video they had clips of families watching Outkast on the TV and dancing. I always felt like the little kid dancing in that video- I guess I still do.

3. “Coronado” by Deerhunter, Halcyon Digest

I always felt like this was the most underappreciated moment on Deerhunter’s Halcyon Digest. I always wished I could write music like this, so dingey and full of life.

4. “This Old Heart of Mine” by The Isley Brothers, Best of The Isley Brothers: The Motown Years

I discovered this song on an album where members of the Rolling Stones compliled some of their favorite songs. I like a lot of the songs on that album, but this is the one I always seemed to go back to. Everyone can enjoy it, it’s great.

5. “All Day and All of the Night” by The Kinks, Kinks-Size

Back when I was first learning to play guitar, I really wanted to be able to play a solo like Dave Davies does on this track. There was a 2010-ish movie that came out called Pirate Radio about a British rock station in the 60’s, and this was the first song they played in that movie. Understandably, it’s the epitome of rock and roll.

Leave a Reply

