The End of an Era: Saying Goodbye to My Chemical Romance

Image

by Chelsey Moody

On Friday, March 22, 2013 an announcement was made that shook the  alt rock world. Via the band’s website, after 12 years of creating music together, My Chemical Romance announced they were breaking up:

“Being in this band for the past 12 years has been a true blessing. We’ve gotten to go places we never knew we would. We’ve been able to see and experience things we never imagined possible. We’ve shared the stage with people we admire, people we look up to, and best of all, our friends. And now, like all great things, it has come time for it to end. Thanks for all of your support, and for being part of the adventure. My Chemical Romance.”

Let’s have a moment of silence…

As news of the band’s breakup spread across Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook, and all those other social networking sites, the hopes and dreams of all the angst ridden middle schoolers and high schoolers in us died. Lets be honest, we al went through that emo phase, don’t deny it (but if you honestly didn’t go through it then good for you. As for the rest of us I think we can all agree those years were an…interesting time). Gerard Way sang the angst that we all felt so deep inside our pre-teen and teenage, misunderstood souls. Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge was our anthem as a whole, no other emo genred album matched what MCR did. Skilled guitar riffs and enticing vocals matched all tied neatly together with their fashion choices made My Chemical Romance the model that every scene kid tried to achieve via Hot Topic.

Okay, while some of what I’ve said was a little dramatic, My Chemical Romance will seriously be missed. I admittedly haven’t listened to much MCR past their Black Parade album, but the breakup did make me a little sad, and very nostalgic. I remember sitting in front of the Tv watching Fuse, straightening my side-swept bangs that covered half my face just waiting to watch the music video for “I’m Not Okay (I Promise)” for the thousandth time so I could see the love of my life and future husband Frank Iero (who is now unfortunately for me happily married with kids). I remember sitting with my friends at lunch with our compact cd players doing the air guitar for “Thanks for the Venom” and dancing around pretending we were the dead ballerina from the “Helena” video. I know some of you may read this and think I’m crazy, but a lot of you know exactly what I’m talking about and did almost the same thing with your friends. Even now when a My Chemical Romance song comes up on iTunes shuffle my friends and I can belt out every word.

Arguably, My Chemical Romance is one of the top 5 most influential and prominent  bands of early 2000s. Yes there are other great bands that were prominent around this time too; I was all about Hawthorne Heights, The Used, and Senses Fail too. But how many of these  bands had as many mainstream hits as MCR? Even the Boston Phoenix (may they rest in peace) named “Helena” as the #1 emo song of all time. From the epic albums, to the forever changing color of Gerard Way’s hair, this band left their mark on the music world.

So lets give My Chemical Romance  Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge and say “Thanks for the Venom”, as we throw one last “Black Parade” with the emo band that we loved “To the End” until they spoke their “Famous Last Words.” Thank you My Chemical Romance, for being part of the soundtrack to mine, and many others angst ridden, teenage years (and sorry for all the bad song puns) you will be greatly missed.

One thought on “The End of an Era: Saying Goodbye to My Chemical Romance

  1. Mcr aren`t emo, especially the early stuff like Three cheers, i get they’ve always had emo fans , I was never one, but they are something different. They are punk rock if anything but they don’t sound like anyone else. Having said that I’m glad to see that others will miss mcr maybe not as much as me me but miss them none the less. I just wonder if I’ll ever be as big a fan of any other bands.

Leave a Reply

