3 Great Sites for Discovering New Music

artworks-000001362098-49zda3-cropby Loretta Donelan

I remember the time I first discovered music blogs. It was my sophomore year of high school. A friend sent me the KEXP song of the day music blog, and I was amazed by the vast amount of excellent free and legal music. I began downloading every song that they had ever offered and instantly became overwhelmed by the quantity of music I had to listen to. I still find unplayed songs in my iTunes from this phase, songs that I still plan on listening to one day.

Since then, I’ve become a bit more experienced and a lot more selective in discovering new music. Partly, this is through the discovery of a few websites that put together the best of music blogs for my listening pleasure. Here are a few of my favorites. They each provide a way to listen to a lot of new music in one place, and they are all available as mobile apps.

1. The Hype Machine

The Hype Machine is my favorite source for new music. Its list of current popular blogged songs range from banging Rihanna remixes to avant-garde rock to the latest indie folk. If you’re pressed for time, you can use its Fast Forward feature, which plays brief selections from each popular song. You can also follow your favorite music blogs and listen to a curated playlist from all of their latest blogged songs.

2. Shuffler.fm

This radio website allows its users to listen to a playlist of recently-blogged music by (very) specific genre, from Shoegaze to Witch House. It seamlessly navigates through different blogs, sort of like a StumbleUpon for music. The site also features playlists from popular and up-and-coming music blogs, so it’s a great way to discover your new favorite site.

3. Songza

Songza organizes internet radio playlists by mood or activity. It provides a variety of playlist options for Saturday parties or weekday studying. Rather than being directly drawn from blogs, most of the playlists are created by music curators. The site does feature a lot of new music, in addition to playlists created  by popular music blogs.

Leave a Reply

